According to the timeframe the firm announced in May, Google will start erasing accounts that have not been used for a period of time starting next month.
When an account is inactive for a predetermined amount of time, the search engine giant will permanently destroy everything connected to it, including emails, files, documents, and backup images. Google said that accounts that are going to be terminated will be alerted by the firm before the account is destroyed.
Google declared earlier this year that accounts that aren’t utilized for two years will be considered “inactive”. According to the business’s Inactive Accounts Policy, an active account is one in which users carry out the following tasks:
sending and receiving emails, storing and accessing Google Drive files, sharing Google Photos, watching YouTube videos while logged in, and downloading Play Store apps are all examples of using Google while signed in.
As per Google, “all of its content and data may be deleted” when an account is considered inactive. The company’s dormant account policy restates its earlier statement, which states that inactive account termination will start on December 1.
Numerous personal details supplied throughout the years may be erased from Google accounts. These consist of synchronized contacts, images, Chrome bookmarks, emails, files on Google Drive, chat messages, Google Pay information, Google Play content, YouTube and YouTube Music information, and Maps and location history.
The business’s “inactive account policy” does have some exceptions, though; accounts that were used to “purchase a Google app, product, service, or subscription that is current or ongoing” won’t be scheduled for deletion. If you’ve published a game or app with active subscriptions, if you have funds in your Google account in the form of a gift card, if you use Family Link to keep an eye on a child’s account, or if you’ve bought digital goods like an e-book or movie.
According to Google, emails will be sent to impacted users’ accounts as well as any recovery email addresses that may be available to notify them in advance. You can take specific steps to stop your data from being erased if you receive an email from Google indicating that your account has been declared inactive. These consist of accessing your account, searching on Google, and viewing a few videos on YouTube.